#Barangay Name Year Founded / Constituted
1Otavi Recorded as early as 1569; constituted 1801
2Gate1640 (as barrio of Bulusan); re-established 1801
3Butagrecorded as early as 1572; probably constituted before 1805
4San Juan (Daan)established in 1801; evacuated in 1883 due to cholera epidemic; reconstituted between 1948-1960
5San Juan (Bag-o)1883
6Beguinbefore 1898
7Calomagon before 1898
8Danao (Inalapan) before 1898
9Inararan before 1898
10Namo (Canamuan) before 1898
11San Ramon (Capacuhan) before 1898
12San Francisco (Polot) before 1898
13Jamorawon 1901
14J. Gerona (Biton) between 1903-1918
15Marinab between 1903-1918
16Padre Diaz between 1903-1918
17Quezon (Cabarawan) before 1934
18Recto (Cocok) before 1934
19R. Gerona between 1918-1939
20Cadandanan 1959
21Fabrica 1960 (recorded as early as 1928)
22Lajong 1960 (recorded as early as 1928)
23Magsaysay (Bogñog) 1957
24San Isidro (Cabugaan) before 1954 (recorded as electoral district in 1947)
25San Rafael(Togbogñon) 1959
26G. del Pilar (Tagña) before 1960 (1977 name change from Tagña to Del Pilar)
27Antipolo 1960
28J.P. Laurel (Pon-od) 1960 (1972
29Bonga 1960
30 Aguinaldo (Lipata Daku) 1964
31Palale 1964
32San Vicente (Banase) 1964
33Somagongsong 1969
34Sta. Remedios 1964
35Bical 1969
36Dolos 1969
37Sta. Teresita 1969
38Sigad 1969
39Montecalvario 1969
40A. Bonifacio (Tinurilan) 1972
41Abad Santos (Kambal) 1972
42Calpi 1972
43Cocok-Cabitan 1972
44Daganas 1972
45E. Quirino (Pinagñomhan) 1972
46Aquino (Imelda) (1978 name changed from Imelda to Aquino) 1972
47Libertad (Calle Putol) 1972
48Managa-Naga 1972
49Nasuje 1972
50N. Roque (Rizal/Calayugan) (1973 name changed from Rizal to N. Roque) 1972
51Obrero 1972
52Osmeña (Lipata Saday) 1972
53M. Roxas (Busay) 1972
54Sagrada (Badiang) 1972
55Taromata 1972
56Zone 1 1973
57Zone 2 1973
58Zone 3 1973
59Zone 4 1973
60Zone 5 1973
61Zone 6 1973
62Zone 7 1973
63Zone 8 1973


Bulan has 63 Barangays.


Long before the Spaniards came to the Philippines, and to Bulan, our place must already have been dotted with settlements and communities, from the edge of what is now Sitio Inalapan (Danao) to the North and “Botag” to the south. Even the mainland of Bulan must have these villages already. The proofs are the archeological artifacts of jar burial sites such as those in Fabrica, San Juan Daan and Taromata and those communities doing trade and commerce with Chinese traders as can be evidenced by the Chinese wares excavated in places like Liman, Magsaysay, Gate, and other areas in Bulan.

These settlements were called Barangays,composed of more orless 100inhabitants. The leaders or heads of these settlements were called Datu, or Panginoo or Pangolo.    The word barangay originally meant the boat used by the migrant Malays who settled in our country  around 200 B.C. When the Spanish colonizers came, they retained that name for the settlements and called the village  headman as Cabeza de Barangay.


In July 1569, the Spanish colonizers sailing from Masbate dropped anchor in Otavi and here they celebrated the very first

holy Mass in the island of Luzon. A settlement up north was called Bililan.

In 1640, Gate was made a visita of Bulusan. In 1690, it became a separate Pueblo Civil and Parish. During these times, whatever settlement there might have been recognized was already headed by a Cabeza de Barangay.

In 1746, Gate, together with many other settlements in Bulan and Sorsogon Province was raided, pillaged, and burned by the Moros. The survivors of the raid sought refuge in the mountains. Some settled in what is now San Juan Daan.

Due to the incessant Moro raids, many sought refuge in the hinterlands; the coastal areas were deserted.


In 1801, when Bulan was refounded along the Maribok River, four barangays were officially recognized as cabeceras or Districts of Bulan: Otavi, Gate, San Juan (Daan) and Buenavista (in Irosin). Each was headed by a Cabeza. These Cabezas were appointed by the Parish Priest. In the 1860s upto the 1900, the Cabezas were appointed by the Capitanes del Pueblo or the equivalent of the Town Mayor now. The very first officially recognized Cabezas of Bulan in 1801 were Don Juan Austria of Otavi, Don Juan Cipriano of Gate, Don Juan Selleso of San Juan and Don Juan Santiago of Buenavista.


In 1893, the Maura Law was passed. This Spanish Law  established tribunales, municipals/ pueblos and juntas provinciales. The pueblos were divided and subdivided into barrios (wards) and barangays under tenientes del barrio and cabezas de barangay, respectively. Barangays were villages with 100-150 families. Some barangays of Bulan were established during this period.


In 1899, the American Government issued General Orders Nos. 40 and 43. The barangays were renamed as Barrios. The Barrio head was still the Cabeza, who at the same time was a member of the Municipal Council. By this time, Bulan had 11 Barrios, aside from the Poblacion: Inalapan (now, Danao), Namo, Inararan, Calomagon, San Francisco, Bignin, San Juan Bag-o, Capacuhan (San Ramon), Gate, Otabi, Botag. In 1901, Jamor-awon became a Barrio. In 1901, under Act No. 82 or the Municipal Code, the Cabeza became a Barrio Lieutenant or “Teniente del Barrio”. He was appointed by a Municipal Councilor.

In 1903, Bulan had 12 Barrios plus the Poblacion.

In 1918, J. Gerona, Marinab, and Padre Diaz were already included officially in the census. There were now already 15 barrios. In 1939, Barrio Quezon, Recto, and R. Gerona were already in the census list.

In 1931, Act No. 3861 was adopted, and a barrio council was organized: the Lieutenant and four councilors. They were all appointed by a Municipal Councilor. Barrios were also created by acts of Congress (until 1963).


By virtue of R.A. 1245 of 1955, the first Barrio election was held on January 19, 1956. On June 20, 1959, RA 2370 or the Barrio Charter Act was passed.

In 1963, the revised Barrio Charter (RA 3590, amending RA 2370, Barrio Charter) was enacted.The title Barrio Lieutenantwas changed to Barrio Captain. There were 21 barrios in Bulan created under the Revised Barrio Charter. On January 9, 1969, during the incumbency of Mayor Luis G. de Castro, Sr., Somagongsong, Dolos, Montecalvario, Sigad, Sta. Teresita were constituted. And in 1972, under Provincial Board Resolutions No. 112, Obrero, Managanaga, Libertad, Rizal, Imelda, Osmena, Bonifacio, Calpi, Quirino, Taromata, Roxas, Sagrada, and Abad Santos were created.


In 1973, when the 1973 Constitution was ratified, barrios in cities and town centers (Poblacion) were created. The Poblacion was divided into eight zones.

On September 21, 1974, PD No. 557 was promulgated declaring all Barrios in the Philippines as Barangays.By 1975, there were already 63 barangays in Bulan, including the eight zones created in 1973.

In 1983, the Local Government Code (BP 337) was enacted, and the governance of the barangay units was also stipulated in this law. In 1991, RA 7160 was approved, effectively giving autonomy and more powers to the barangay Governments.